You are here

Cluster Members

Abolmaesumi, Purang
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
UBC
purang@ece.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Machine Learning, Medical Image Analysis, Ultrasound Imaging

Andrews, Jeff
Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, Data Science, Mathematics, Statistics
University of British Columbia Okanagan
jeff.andrews@ubc.ca
Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Bioinformatics, Classification, Clustering, Computational Statistics, Mixture Models

Braun, John
Head, Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics, Professor, Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
University of British Columbia Okanagan
john.braun@ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Computational Statistics, Data Visualization, Modelling and Simulation, Predictive Modelling, Statistical Education, Visualization Methodology

Carlsten, Chris
Professor & Head, Division of Respiratory Medicine , Canada Research Chair, Occupational and Environmental Lung Disease, Astra-Zeneca Chair in Occupational and Environmental Lung Disease
UBC
carlsten@mail.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Air Pollution, Genomics, Occupational and Environmental Exposures, Respiratory Medicine

Chau, Raymond
Head, Innovation to Commercialization, mHealth ConVISation Lab, UBC
University of British Columbia
raymond.chau@ubc.ca
Data Access
Data Analytics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing

Daley, Denise
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
University of British Columbia
denise.daley@hli.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Bioinformatics, Epigenetics, Genomics, Pulmonary Disease

Dhugga, Gurm
Associate Director, Research and Digital Technology
University of British Columbia
gurm.dhugga@ubc.ca
Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation
Digital Infrastructure, Metadata

Evans, Laurel
Director, Research Ethics
University of British Columbia
laurel.evans@ors.ubc.ca
Data Access
Research Ethics

Fallah, Nader
Associate Director, Praxis Artificial Intelligence, Praxis Spinal Cord Institute
University of British Columbia

Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Biostatistics, Machine Learning

Field, Thalia
Director, Vancouver Stroke Program; Associate Professor, Division of Neurology
UBC

Data Analytics
Clinical trials, Cognition, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing

Flatt, Alexandra (Lexie)
Vice President, Pandemic Response, Chief Data Governance & Analytics Officer
Provincial Health Services Authority

Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation, Data Literacy
COVID-19, Data Governance, Health Services, Provincial Data Strategy

Flemming , Terri
Director, Research Ethics BC
BC Academic Health Sciences Network
tfleming@bcahsn.ca
Data Access
Research Ethics

Gopaluni, Bhushan
Associate Dean, Education and Professional Development, Faculty of Applied Science, Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering
UBC
bhushan.gopaluni@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Fault Detection and Diagnosis, Identification for Control, Iterative Identification and Control, Model Predictive Controllers, Modeling and Experiment Design

Granville, David
Executive Director, Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute, Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute
david.granville@vch.ca

Aging, Cardiovascular Health, Granzymes, Inflammation, Tissue Injury, Wound Healing

Grzybowski, Stefan
Professor, Department of Family Practice, Director, Rural Health Services Research Network of BC
University of British Columbia

Data Analytics, Data Assets
COVID-19, Ethnicity and Gender Impacts on Health, Health Services, Knowledge Integration/Exchange, Learning Health System, Public Health, Social Determinants of Health

Gustafson, Paul
Professor, Statistics
UBC
gustaf@stat.ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Bayesian Statistics, Biostatistics, Causal Inference, Evidence Synthesis

Gutiw , Diane
VP Consulting, CGI
CGI
diane.gutiw@cgi.com
Data Access
Artificial Intelligence, Health Data Analytics, Machine Learning, Provincial Data Strategy

Hacihaliloglu, Ilker
Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology
University of British Columbia

Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Artificial Intelligence, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Medical Image Analysis, Ultrasound Imaging

Hare, Warren
Professor, Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
University of British Columbia Okanagan
warren.hare@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Blackbox Optimization, Bundle methods, Derivative-free optimization, Mathematical optimization, Nonconvex analysis

Harrigan, Richard
Professor, Department of Medicine
University of British Columbia
richard.harrigan@ubc.ca
Data Assets
COVID-19, Epidemiology, Genomics & Transmission Dynamics, Public Health

Ho, Kendall
Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
UBC
Kendall.Ho@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Digital Health

Holmes, Daniel
Head and Medical Director, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, St. Paul’s Hospital, Clinical Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of British Columbia
dtholmes@mail.ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Data Science, Data Visualization, Hypertension

Jirasek, Andrew
Professor, Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
University of British Columbia Okanagan
andrew.jirasek@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
3D radiation dosimetry, Data and Image Processing, Medical Physics, Radiation Oncology Physics, Raman spectroscopy

Karim, Ehsan
Assistant Professor, School of Population and Public Health
University of British Columbia
ehsan.karim@ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Bayesian methodologies, Biostatistics, Causal Inference, Epidemiology, Longitudinal data analysis, Machine Learning, Observational data analysis

Kelleher, Dermot
Dean, Faculty of Medicine , Vice-President, Health, Professor, Department of Medicine
UBC

Data Access, Data Analytics, Data Assets, Data Literacy
Translational Medicine

Khan, Nadia
Professor and Head, Division of General Internal Medicine , Scientist, Centre for Health Evaluation and Outcome Sciences; Associate Member, School of Population and Public Health
UBC
nakhanubc@gmail.com
Data Analytics
Big Data, Clinical trials, Diabetes, Ethnicity and Gender Impacts on Health, Health Services, Hypertension, Stroke

Kingsford, Douglas
Chief Medical Information Officer
Ministry of Health

Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation, Data Literacy
Artificial Intelligence, Digital Health, Machine Learning, Workflows

Knight, Darryl
Vice President, Research and Academic Affairs, Providence Health Care Research Institute, Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
UBC
dknight2@providencehealth.bc.ca
Data Access, Data Analytics, Data Assets, Data Literacy
Aging, Airway Disease, Lung and airway remodelling, Respiratory diseases

Kolind, Shannon
MRI Physicist, UBC MRI Research Centre, Associate Professor, Division of Neurology
UBC
shannon.kolind@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Multiple Sclerosis

Lester, Rich
Associate Professor in Global Health, Division of Infectious Diseases, Director, Neglected Global Diseases Initiative; Director ID Research, Division of Infectious Diseases, Consultant, BC Centre for Disease Control
UBC
rlester@mail.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Digital Health, Infectious Disease

Levin, Adeera
Professor and Head, Division of Nephrology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia, Executive Director, BC Renal Agency
UBC

Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation
Clinical Data Management, COVID-19, Data Assets, Health Services, Provincial Data Strategy

Longstaff, Holly
Director, Privacy and Access, PHSA Research and New Initiatives
Provincial Health Services Authority

Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation, Data Literacy
Privacy, Provincial Data Strategy, Research Ethics

Luong, Christine
Clinical Assistant Professor, Division of Cardiology, Head, Stress Echocardiography, Vancouver General Hospital.
UBC
Christina.Luong@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Artificial Intelligence, CVD, Echocardiography

Marra, Marco
Professor, Department of Medical Genetics, Director, Canada’s Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre at BC Cancer, Canada Research Chair in Genome Sciences
BC Genome Sciences Centre, University of British Columbia
mmarra@bcgsc.ca
Data Access
Bioinformatics, Cancer Biology, Epigenomics, Genetics, Genomics, Personalized Oncogenomics (POG)

McGrail , Kim
Professor, UBC School of Population and Public Health , Director of Research UBC Health , Scientific Director of Population Data BC and Health Data Research Network Canada
University of British Columbia
kim.mcgrail@ubc.ca
Data Access, Data Assets, Data Implementation, Data Literacy
Population Data Science

Moosvi, Firas
Lecturer, Computer Science
University of British Columbia Okanagan
firas.moosvi@ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Data Visualization, Machine Learning, Medical Image Analysis, Reproducibility, Workflows

Narayan, Apurva
Assistant Professor, School of Engineering , Associate Member, Mechanical Engineering
UBC
apurva.narayan@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Artificial Intelligence, Data Analytics, Data Security, Machine Learning

Ng, Raymond
Professor, Computer Science, Director, Data Science Institute
University of British Columbia
rng@cs.ubc.ca
Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Bioinformatics, Data Management, Data Mining, Data Science, Natural Language Processing

Ngo, Henry
Data and Analytics Team Lead, Population Health Surveillance & Epidemiology
Ministry of Health
Henry.Ngo@gov.bc.ca
Data Analytics
Bayesian Statistics, Epidemiology, Modelling and Simulation, Population Data Science, Reproducibility, Workflows

Nicolaou, Savvas
Professor, Division of Radiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia, Director, Emergency and Trauma Imaging, Vancouver General Hospital
UBC
savvas.nicolaou@vch.ca
Data Assets
Artificial Intelligence, Critical Care, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Medical Image Analysis, Medical Imaging

Olson, James
Dean, Faculty of Applied Science, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
UBC
olson@mech.ubc.ca

Fluid Mechanics, Forest Bio-Products, Machine Design, Material Science

Palepu, Anita
Head, Department of Medicine , Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine
UBC
medicine.head@ubc.ca
Data Access, Data Analytics, Data Assets, Data Literacy
Addiction & Treatment, Harm Reduction, Homelessness & Health, Social Determinants of Health, Urban Health

Portales-Casamar, Elodie
Investigator, BC Children's Hospital , Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
UBC
eportales-casamar@bcchr.ca
Data Analytics
Clinical Informatics, Computational Biology, Medical Informatics

Rabinowitz, Alan
Cardiologist at St Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver , Clinical Associate Professor, Division of Cardiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia, Co-Founder and Chief Medical Officer, PHEMI Systems
UBC
alanrab@gmail.com
Data Assets
Cardiovascular Health, Data Security

Rajapakshe, Rasika
Senior Medical Physicist, BC Cancer Agency , Clinical Associate Professor, Medicine
BC Cancer Agency, Centre for the Southern Interior
rasika.rajapakshe@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Cancer Risk Modeling, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Medical Image Analysis, Medical Imaging Informatics

Robillard, Julie
Assistant Professor, Division of Neurology
University of British Columbia
jrobilla@mail.ubc.ca
Data Implementation
AI Ethics, Digital Health

Rohling, Rob
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering & Mechanical Engineering, Director of the Institute for Computing, Information and Cognitive Systems (ICICS)
University of British Columbia
rohling@ece.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Elastography, Medical Imaging, Medical Robotics, Ultrasound

Ronquillo, Charlene
Assistant Professor, Health Informatics Equity Lab, School of Nursing
University of British Columbia Okanagan
Charlene.ronquillo@ubc.ca
Data Access
Artificial Intelligence, Data Literacy, Digital Health, Medical Informatics

Russell, Jim
Professor, Department of Medicine, Section Head, Sepsis and Multiple Organ Failure
University of British Columbia
jim.russell@hli.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
COVID-19, Critical Care, Genomics, Sepsis

Safari, Abdollah
Head, Data Analytics, Statistics and Informatics (DASI) Unit, Statistician, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of British Columbia
abdollah.safari@ubc.ca
Data Literacy
Biostatistics, Data Science, Machine Learning, Pharmaceutical Science, Statistics

Salcudean, Tim
Professor; Electrical and Computer Engineering , Canada Research Chair in Intelligent Computer Interface Design
University of British Columbia
tims@ece.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Elastography, Image-Guided Interventions, Medical Image Analysis, Medical Imaging, Teleoperation, Ultrasound Imaging

Sorenson, Poul
Asa and Kashmir Johal Endowed Chair in Childhood Cancer Research, University of British Columbia, Department of Pediatrics, Director, Academy of Translational Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Professor, Pathology
University of British Columbia

Data Analytics
Biomarkers, Childhood Cancer, Dietary Proteins

Steino, Anne
Senior Manager of Operations, Academy of Translational Medicine
UBC

Data Access
Translational Medicine

Talhouk, Aline
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of British Columbia
a.talhouk@ubc.ca
Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Bioinformatics, Digital Health, Federated Machine Learning, Machine Learning, Privacy

Tam, Roger
Associate Professor, Department of Radiology, Director, Engineers in Scrubs Program
University of British Columbia
roger.tam@ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Machine Learning, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Medical Image Analysis

Tang, Tricia
Associate Professor, Division of Endocrinology, Department of Medicine, Director, Post-graduate Research, Division of Endocrinology
University of British Columbia
tricia.tang@vch.ca
Data Literacy
Diabetes, Digital Health

Tarling, Tamsin
Manager, BC COVID-19 Biobank Network, Chair, Education and Training Committee, International Society for Environmental and Biological Repositories
University of British Columbia
Tamsin.tarling@ubc.ca
Data Access
Clinical Data Management, COVID-19, Data Security, Privacy

Tebbutt, Scott
Professor, Department of Medicine (Respiratory Division), Director of Education, Centre for Heart Lung Innovation (HLI), Chief Executive Officer, Prevention of Organ Failure Centre for Excellence (PROOF)
University of British Columbia
scott.tebbutt@hli.ubc.ca
Data Assets
Bioinformatics, Biomarkers, Genomics, Proteomics, Respiratory diseases

Timbers, Tiffany
Assistant Professor of Teaching, Department of Statistics , Co-Director, Master of Data Science program
University of British Columbia
tiffany.timbers@ubc.ca
Data Analytics, Data Literacy
Data Science, Data Visualization, Machine Learning, Reproducibility, Workflows

Tsang, Teresa
Director of Echocardiography, Vancouver General Hospital, Associate Head of Research, Department of Medicine
University of British Columbia
t.tsang@ubc.ca
Data Access, Data Analytics, Data Assets, Data Literacy
Echocardiography, Machine Learning, Ultrasound Imaging

Tsui, Clement
Affiliate Assistant Professor
University of British Columbia
ctsui@mail.ubc.ca
Data Analytics
Epidemiology, Genomics, Infectious Disease, Public Health

van Rooij, Tibor
Lead, Digital Health Research initiative, BC Children's Hospital Research Institute
BC Children's Hospital Research Institute

Data Access
Clinical Data Management, Digital Health, Genomics, Medical Informatics

Walker, Danielle
Program Manager, Biomedical Imaging and AI Research Cluster
UBC
daniellew@ece.ubc.ca

Wright, Joleen
Director, Data Release & Access Management
Vancouver Coastal Health

Data Access
Data Governance, Data Security

Young, Ella
Project Director, Provincial Health Services Authority
UBC

Data Access
Data Mining, Modelling and Simulation, Predictive Modelling